• management@imscochin.com
  • 9745433365
  • 9745433375

CPT (Common Proficiency Test)

  • Home /CPT (Common Proficiency Test)

The CPT or Common Proficiency Test is the entry level of Chartered Accountancy examinations in India. It is an objective type examination and consists of 200 multiple choice questions. CPT covers four basic subjects divided into two sections viz.

1. Accounting (60 Marks) + Mercantile Laws (40 Marks)

2. Economics (50 Marks) + Quantitative Aptitude (50 Marks).

CPT exams are held in June and December. Every incorrect answer on the CPT exam carries a 0.25 negative mark. A candidate is required to secure a minimum of 30 per cent marks in each Section and a minimum of 50 per cent marks in aggregate, in all the four Sections to pass the Common Proficiency Test

What is the eligibility for appearing in the examination?

A registered student may appear in Common Proficiency Test after he has appeared in the Senior Secondary Examination (10+2 examination) conducted by an examining body constituted by law in India or an examination recognised by the Central Government as equivalent thereto and has complied with such requirements as may be specified by the Council from time to time.